the consequence of sounds [ 27 December 2004, 3:04 p.m. ]


christmas eve was fantastic. it was the most christmasy christmas eve i've had since i used to go to the yankee swap at my dad's work when i was 8 (or so).

i got up early to brave the grocery store, and made cookie dough. then i made bfast for A and F. the rest of the day was spent listening to xmas carols, wrapping, exchanging gifts with A, and making (and decorating) cookies. i loved every minute. there was a mad dash to the airport to get my parents who were coming home from their bahama holiday, and then a party with my HS friends. B and i were wearing the same outfit, and it was just like the old days. she came to pick me up at my house and we went out.

but i've skipped around. i had one of the most heart-wrenching goodbyes with A that we've had for awhile (she was traveling to HER parents for xmas eve and me to mine). and neither of us could say goodbye. _sigh_ she also got me a wonderfully hot watch and lots of wonderful clothes. i am a lucky girl. i think she liked her presents from me, but i almost think that i like them better than she does - ah well.

christmas was weird. m was at his girlfriend's house, so we were already one child short. and my grandparents couldn't come for dinner because nana was just getting out of the hospital, where she was kept overnight. presents weren't opened until 5pm - but at least we all had beers while doing it. that made a fun new tradition. my parents were very generous towards us this year.

i don't know - it was a downer of a day after the xmas eve i had.

topping it off, i guess, was the packet of news clippings my uncle gave me. he found them at papa's house. every article that ever had my name in it, for track or soccer was clipped and dated (some in my grandmother's handwriting) - i nearly lost it. i did, later, when i found mimi's old date book from 1978-1979. For those two years, she wrote down EVERYTHING in this book. it was amazing to read. amazing, and incredibly, incredibly sad.

i spent the rest of the weekend with A's family - and braved the snow covered roads this morning to work. it was all so fast this year - time just moves faster and faster. memories make me sad.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
guestbook
notes
host
design