the way you look at me, when everything is perfect. [ 12 June 2003, 5:42 p.m. ]

i wandered around town today at lunch. mostly with a goofy grin on my face, i think. sometimes i just get caught up in observing everything around me. i found myself reading the tshirt of each person who walked by me. and at one point, i even turned around in a circle, trying to get my bearings, me in jeans and book in hand. a man in a suit just gave me an amused smile and continued on his purposeful walk back to the office. i swear i saw at least 10 pregnant women, most in business clothes. and there was the most adorable baby on the T on the way into town. she was so small her crying wasn't even that annoying.

and so. i didn't find the soccer cleats i was looking for. i'll have to try again tonight.

but. as i walked through the throngs of people, most on lunch break from their prestigious financial institution, some loafing around in retro fashion, i could only keep smiling to myself. and to the cute old man outside the donut shop. and to the little girl eating a peanut with such forced concentration.

sometimes i love my solo adventures.

but for now, i am looking forward to getting the apartment showings out of the way and getting home to her. the one who calls me her girlfriend. which, i have to admit. is a word that still gets my heart racing. because it was for so long that i was not her girlfriend. not in a bad way. just in that way that makes you happy to hear it. because. you've finally gotten to this place, that for lack of a better word. is perfect.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
guestbook
notes
host
design