he called me darlin' baby girl [ 03 November 2004, 2:44 p.m. ]

so, i avoided writing in here last week because i just couldn't. but now i'm ready, i guess.

my Papa passed away last sunday. it was definitely time for him to go. i saw him on friday night, and he was barely hanging on. he passed away on sunday morning, literally less than 2 minutes after his baby sister had left his bedside.

my mom is a stud. she was his oldest child, and was in charge of all the things one has to take care of after a death. she hated it, but secretly, i think she thought it was better that she had something to control.

god, he was a great man. there were over 500 people at his wake. all my HS friends and their parents came. papa knew everyone and everyone loved him. he always said that he'd lived a great life. that he was lucky to have such wonderful family and friends. we were lucky to have him. very lucky. he was at every one of my soccer games and track meets. hell, he went to every HS football game even though none of us ever played. he was SO proud of all of us and never stopped saying it. he always asked me if i was "still the boss" at my job.

i'm going to miss him. so much.

they played taps at the cemetary and that's when my tears started. afterwards, my brother hugged me, and we both just sobbed. my dad came over and hugged us, sobbing too. my other brother joined in, and the four of us stood in a huddle, holding each other and just crying. it was probably the most intense family moment i've had in awhile. we don't cry in front of each other. ever. it felt good.

my dad is a saint. my mom would start to break down when she talked about how supportive my dad has been through all of this. he is a wonderful man, and i am glad they have each other.

i'll never forget papa always asking about my friends. never quite remembering who was who, but always remembering the details, and wondering how they were.

i went to fenway park thursday morning, to buy a cap to put in his casket. the wait was worth it, and what an atmosphere. i wish he had seen the win.

we chose to think he's up there with mimi, laura, mil, and jim having a beer and still hollering about the red sox.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
guestbook
notes
host
design