regrets [ 07 January 2004, 2:37 p.m. ]

Mil,

I was supposed to visit you yesterday. I know it took me way too long to make time, and I can only hope you forgave me for that. I know you did. Because that's just the way you are.

I just wanted to say that I'm sorry. I'm sorry for not coming over more often. I'm sorry if you felt I was too busy for you. And I'm sorry for me. That I missed out on quality time I could have spent with you.

I did this one wrong, Mil. I absolutely believe that. I did it wrong. I wanted to spend more time with you. And I didn't. I wanted to pore over your picture collection and take you out to dinner. I loved to watch movies of the twins and ELR with you. Remember the time we went to see amelie out of the blue? You convinced me to go and I fell in love with that movie. I've been obsessed with seeing it again since, and haven't. I think that when I do, I'll pretend you're there with me.

I'll remember you as always having a camera and a smile ready. I'll remember the messages you left me and mom, cursing your illness and increasing lack of mobility. I'll laugh and smile as I remember you urging my punkass brother to become a priest "for the family".

I am thankful for the time we did have together. Of the conversations we had about everything from rugby to Jimmy. I'm glad you can finally be with him again. I hope you and Mimi are giving them hell up there. I love you.

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
guestbook
notes
host
design